Mastering conundrum

Good evening everyone, long time fan of Mike and his tutorials, first time poster.

I am an experienced presenter and editor (many years on the radio) but always looking to further my skillset. It’s the audio geek in me.

I recently happened upon a video where Mike discussed using Ozone’s Master Assistant for a final master. I have downloaded a trial and am impressed. It definitely adds a final bit of sparkle.

One question is bugging me however! Imagine I have a podcast which is a mix of dry speech, speech over a music bed, trails and idents. Would I use Master Assistant to master the whole mix in one hit? Or would I break it down and master sections individually eg. master the intro bed separately to a section of extended speech.

My guess is that the settings which the Master Assistant generates would be different for both types of audio, so I am trying to work out the best workflow for a whole episode.

Really appreciate any thoughts you all may have on this.

Thanks a lot!

HI, normally Ozone would be placed as the last plugin on your stereo buss so that all your production flows through it and is dealt with in one pass - this should give you your finished master/imaging. You can still ‘tweak’ the settings to taste after the ‘Master Assistant’ has done its stuff if you still are not happy with the end result.

Now because Ozone allows its included processes/effects to be available as separate plugins for use in your DAW project at any point, you can use any combination of them on any tracks you feel could use the processing, reduce your cpu hit because you are not instantiating the complete plugin, and still use the complete plugin on your stereo buss to master with… cool!

IanT.

Great to hear you’re enjoying audio geeking over iZotope Ozone.