Mashup i've done

Hi everyone, I have two mashups that I have done. I would like to ask advice on how I could improve them. I’ve done these on garageband

1 Like

Thanks for sharing @Artisticgirl28 best to post them here for us to check out :slight_smile:

Hey @Artisticgirl28,

The structure is nice, but the tracks don’t quite match harmonically and because of that clash. I’d research a bit about “harmonic mixing” and look at learning to use the camelot wheel when choosing your tracks (attached example) :smiley:

For example, tracks in 8A work well with 9A, 7A and 8B. (left, right & opposite your main track)

Bit technical, but hope that helps!

1 Like

I would like to be honest, I don’t fully understand this. I have been following a page called tunebat which says songs which would work together

https://tunebat.com/Info/Smells-Like-Me-Charlie-Puth/6LXIhiXK8z1KLd3giR904b

I’m not a musician, just a women who is an artist/ graphic designer. I’ve looked through so many tutorials on youtube. To be honest, I’ve had headaches over this

nice mashup, there’s one note that clashes, it’s the 7th degree of the major scale, in one song it uses the normal 7th note found in the major scale, and the other song with the female voice it uses a flattened 7th found in the mixolydian scale, in the right place it’s real tasty. a bit like adding lemon juice to a sweet and sour chicken dish, the right amount will be delicious, but too much will make it a bit sour.

See if you can hear the note I’m talking about in the female voice, some places it adds a nice spice and tension to the music, and perhaps in the parts it does sound ‘sour’ you could pitch shift it up one semitone to make it sweeter, or just leave it out in the parts that clash.

in the first line of the female vocal “I feel so happy” the spicy nots is in the word ‘feel’

Hmm, could I ask do you mind helping me with this mashup, if not that’s okay :slight_smile:

Are you asking me or Bjorn?

1 Like