Interview Sound Quality

I am a physician who launched a podcast 6 months ago. Have only done solocasts because when I use zoom, my sound quality always sounds underwater or in a tunnel maybe. Just not good. Then I edit so much it sounds alien! Because I am new and my goal is to share healthcare and parenting information, I did not spend money on equipment besides ATR2100 mic and my computer.

What are some tricks I can use to make my remote interviews sound better?

Hi

What are you using to record solo? The ATR 2100 via USB? And when you record interviews the ATR 2100 into the Zoom?

Underwater sounds could be a sign of up-sampling a low sample rate recording. Check the bit rate that the zoom is recording in and that you are editing in, it might be that if it’s recording a low quality being converted to a higher sample rate that could be the issue.

1 Like

Yes indeed. USB ATR2100 with Zoom.
A low sample rate recording? Hmmm, new learning to do. Will need to google how to find that setting in zoom to be able to change it. Thanks for the lead.

Hello @drmommasays and welcome to the community! Thanks for making your first post in here.

I read this a couple of times and think there’s a “zoom” confusion here @markdenholm. I was also thinking about the Zoom portable recorders but I think @drmommasays you are using the zoom.us online recording service to record. Is this correct?

I’ve not used it myself but, from what I hear, the audio quality is really not that great. This would explain the underwater/tunnel sounds. I think @Izabela may have something more to say about Zoom as she works with quite a few clients that also use it.

My suggestion would be, if a video recording is not important, to look at a different service provider that places audio quality as a priority.

I’ve been using Zencastr (audio only) recently to record and it’s really good. It’ll record both sides of the call in high quality and then mix them together afterwards in the cloud.