Track 'Markers' Have No End Time By Default

Hi All,

I’m still fairly new to Audition, and have found that I have had to adapt my thinking completely from other (more basic) audio editors I have used in the past. Once I got past this however, I have become a real Audition ‘convert’ and am constantly amazed with what it can do.

The one thing though which I still can’t get used to is the track breaks logic (known as ‘Markers’ in Audition).

In every other program i’ve used, when you create a Track Marker at XX Min.XX Sec, it automatically sets this as both the End Point of the Current Track AND Beginning of The Next Track (like a brick wall if you will). Audition however uses what I think is very strange logic, in that, when you set a Track Break (using “Add To Marker List” or Keyboard F8), ONLY the Start Cue Point of the track is recorded, with the End Cue Point being left blank, so in order to create a set of back to back Track Breaks, I have been having to go into the ‘Markers’ list, and manually copy the next track’s ‘Begin’ Time into the Previous Track’s ‘End’ Time, which is clearly very manual and onerous.

I’m hoping that seasoned Audition users will be able to tell me that there’s a setting somewhere which would enable Audition to operate like this automatically, then I could finally dispense with MAGIX Audio Cleaning Lab (which does this seamlessly) and do everything through Audition.

Many Thanks
Chris Pitchford

Thanks for the question, Chris. I’m not sure I fully understand what you’re aiming to do with markers. Perhaps you could post some screen shots or a quick video to demo the behaviour?

I do know that markers in Adobe Audition are pretty versatile…

You can set start, end and duration along with changing the marker type in the Markers window. Perhaps this is a good place to look.

Thanks Mike.

Have e-mailed a video as when I select ‘Upload’ here it only allows me to use still image files, jpg etc.

All the best
Chris