Metering and Loudness For Radio Broadcast/Recordings

Hi All,

I am new to the forum and do appreciate that there is existing stuff about metering and loudness, but I would like just to ask some q’s from my own particular perspective and position.

Although I have doing basic audio editing for many years as a hobby and for the charity with which I volunteer, I am only now starting to learn to do it on a basic professional level, so sort of starting from scratch again really.

I have been an Engineer and Presenter with a Talking Newspaper Charity for 31 years, and I am also an aspiring radio presenter and have my own home studio.

As there’s only me when making my radio shows, I’m trying to (as much as possible) emulate the setup which a Presenter has on their own desk in a radio studio (i.e. minimum need for fader riding, level controls etc in-show).

The main part of this is wanting to learn how to make all my music mp3s and jingles sound the same loudness so that they mix easily into my show. (I do have an outboard compressor to help, but would like where possible to learn how to do this before compression/limiting etc).

Due to my Autism however I have struggled with understanding the difference between metering and loudness, but hopefully I have now picked up the basic idea, in that metering is there to prevent distortion and loudness to standardise the listener’s experience at their chosen volume, but the 2 aspects do still seem to me to crossover a little, which is still providing some confusion.

The problem I am having is that if I rip 2 different tracks from CD and meter them to a fairly standard average peak amplitude (such as the traditional PPM4 or -12 dBFS UK Broadcast Setting), the 2 tracks can sound totally different loudnesses through the monitors, and my thinking is that if i’m having to adjust my monitor volume too often, then so would the listener; so I would like to know the best method and tools to level out the loudness of my tracks.