Kylo Ren Voice Modulation Discussion

Hey guys, I’ve been experimenting with creating a Kylo Ren voice effect. I came up with a couple tests and welcome your critique! (Go easy, I just started learning Adobe Audition about a week ago! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: ) So if you have any suggestions on how we could replicate his voice modulation, that’d be greatly appreciated!

Google drive folder with all the following files
Movie Reference
Test A
Test B

Kylo Ren’s actual voice seems to be quite straightforward, yet very nuanced. Using fairly subjective terms, the bass to me seem quite smooth, yet driving and powerful. The voice is slightly muffled because he is speaking into his mask. It’s of course pitch shifted down a little (but perhaps less than you think) and there really isn’t that much distortion on it. It seems to mostly be distorted only on the “middle bulk” of the voice. There’s still a lot of undistorted subtleties. Overall, the entire voice is still pretty clear behind the effects. It sounds decently compressed, but if you look at the wavefrom, there’s still a decent amount of dynamic range.

Test A I think has too much distortion and compression. Though the original voice acting wasn’t too bad, especially after the compression & distortion, it comes out very monotone. Test B is better on the distortion front, but I really don’t like that overbearing bass, which ended up nothing like the original.

The effects rack was as follows. The only differences were in the individual parameters of each.

1. Dynamics Processing (For fuller voice)
  2. Parametric EQ (For fuller voice)
  3. Pitch Shifter
  4. Single Band Compressor
  5. Distortion*
  6. DeEsser
  7. (Test A only) FFT Filter, lowpass ~15k