Connection Nightmare!

I am not an audio engineer. And, for years, I put off starting my podcast…until now. Only I am struggling w/ the connections. I’ve read the manuals and tried (unsuccessfully) to find videos but can’t. Here’s the equipment I’m using:

Mic: Shure Super Deluxe 55
Mixer: Soundcraft Notpad 12FX
Pre-Amp: DBX286s
EQ: DBX 215s
Compressor: DBX 266xs
Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Part of the reason for the equipment is because I will not only be recording a podcast, but will live stream the podcast on occasion. I just can’t figure out the connections. Here’s what I’m thinking:

Mic > 286s (mic input) > 286s (1/4 output) > 215s (1/4 channel one input) > 215s (1/4 channel one output) > 266xs (1/4 input) > 266xs (xlr output) > 2i2 (xlr input). But, then, where does the mixer fit in? ARGH!

Yes, perhaps I should have bought one piece of equipment at a time and worked my way up but I’m a go big or go home type of guy. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I will let @Mike get back to you on the connections front (as I think your setup is identical to what Mike used to have up until recently). I do not envy the amount of cables you have in your office!

As a side note - Mike ditched all of that recently in favour of Rodecaster Pro 2! Worth a watch: https://youtu.be/M_SHzFaLGXQ

2 Likes

Thank you! Wow, if I had only waited a few days before getting the gear then I could have saved a bunch of money. Yes, the setup is almost exactly the same as (apparently) his previous setup as I was going off a previous video plus the podcasting course. Thanks for letting him know :slight_smile:

Just watched the video. Wow….am going to take a serious look at this piece of kit.

1 Like

Hi @MikeLaneOnline and thanks for the question. I’ll do my best to list cables here for you based on your setup and in the correct order.

Mic: Shure Super Deluxe 55
XLR female to TRRS cable

Pre-Amp: DBX286s
XLR female to XLR male cable

Mixer: Soundcraft Notpad 12FX