Broadband Connection

hi @Mike, I heard you talking about broadband issues this week. I’d love a stream on what you have learned. I have been losing shows (radio) recently with 15min drops. Yesterday I dropped out about 12 times. Had OpenReach virtually living here. Having BT Business installed. I’d love e to hear your story. I recall you’ve had problems in the past too. Thanks D

Wow, David, this could turn into a big thread but sure I’ll start to share what I’ve learned.

Note this will all be very UK :uk: centrtic as this is where I live. Connections may vary from place to place around the world.

This is by no means comprehensive but it’s what I understand at the time I’m writing this. I’m not an expert so listen to others who know more. I hope this thread may spark some more discussion on internet connnections especially as speed is so crucial to creators like us :nerd_face:

Basic Home Internet Connections

Dial-Up

Are you still living in the 90s?! :space_invader::dark_sunglasses: Best thing I remember about this were the noises a modem used to make when connecting. Would make a great jingle now :smiley:

ADSL connection

Most old school and rural properties have these and they’re pretty slow! No live streaming, radio shows or Netflix on these. You’re usually looking at 5 Mbps max down and 1 Mbps up :worried:

Fibre Connection (VDSL or FTTC)

FTTC means Fibre to the Cabinet. Essentially an ultra fast fibre connection runs from the telephone exchange (found in most towns) to green cabinets (found in most streets). You then get a copper connection from the cabinet to your property.

If you’re close to a cabinet you can expect 80 Mbps down and 20 Mbs up. Perfect for live streams, podcasting, online radio and more :+1:

Internet Connection Conclusions

There are other options such as G.fast and FTTP but neither of these are common or available in my area right now.