Audio Issues with My Videos

Hello everyone, my name is Ken Lehman and I’ve been a videographer for nearly seven years. I do primarily weddings, events, and small business videos. However, even with all the time and experience under my belt, there are still things that stump me about audio, regardless of how much research that I do. Two such issues I would like to bring up here and I would appreciate any help, suggestions, advice, etc…

ISSUE 1: Videos that Sound Good Regardless of Device

Whenever I listen to my audio when editing my videos, I always use professional headphones and I monitor my meters in Adobe Audition. According to my headphones and Adobe Audition’s meters, the vocals and music sound and look good respectively, i.e. my vocals sound crisp and clean and the music beds do not overtake the vocals. However, when I watch my videos without headphones on YouTube on my TV (and at times without headphones on my computers), at least to me, my sound is not crisp and clean and my music beds are overtaken by my vocals. I do not understand why the audio to my videos sound so different on my computer with headphones versus on my TV and computers and their built-in speakers. Ultimately, I would like my videos to sound good regardless of device.

ISSUE 2: New Camera, New Audio Problems

My old video camera was a Sony EX-1R. To this day, I use a Sennheiser EW100 ENG G3 Wireless ENG Kit, specifically the lavalier, for capturing the audio for interviews and ceremonies at weddings. I would setting my old camera’s volume to 5 and my lavalier to their default -30db. This resulted in great audio.